ladysbeans

Stay at home mom spilling the beans on everyday life!

Homemade Pierogi

Leave a comment

Maybe you’ve bought the Pierogi from your grocer’s freezer… I have, I used to buy them all the time. They are very good. But “very good” doesn’t sit well with me. I mean, I’d eat them anyway. Especially for a quick lunch. You just take them out of the bad, frozen, and throw them in a frying. Done. That’s it.
So I got to thinking one day that this is something I could make myself, and instead of “very good” they could be AMAZING.
I feel like food should make you dance. And giggle. I giggle a lot when I eat. Food excites me, I cant help it. I’m a Foodie.
These homemade pierogi are the the kind of thing that you have to set at least 2 hours aside for. (It used to take me 3 or 4)
Perfect for a rainy day. Just like Chicken and Dumplings.
(Once I make that again, I’ll it too)
The dough for the pierogi is great for other recipes, I plan on using this to make those delicious little Chinese dumplings one day. You can pretty much stuff the dough with anything you want! Ideal, right? Once recipe for multiple things?!

INGREDIENTS: DOUGH

3 1/2c. Flour
3 Eggs
2 Tbsp Sour cream
1/2-3/4c. Water

INGREDIENTS: FILLING

1 1/2 lbs Baking potatoes
2 Tbsp Butter
1 Tbsp Olive oil
1 Small onion, chopped
1 Clove garlic, minced (sometimes I use 2 cloves, but I LOVE GARLIC)
1c. Dried farmer’s cheese (I use fresh Romano or Parmesan)
Salt, pepper, sage, thyme, rosemary and parsley (I dont have exact measurements for these, I just throw it all in)

DIRECTIONS: DOUGH

In a large bowl combine flour, eggs, water and sour cream. Turn dough onto a well flour surface and knead for 3-5 minutes (slightly sticky)
Wrap dough in plastic wrap and let rest 20 minutes.

10487493_10204681717466884_2658093830471323479_n

DIRECTIONS: FILLING

Boil potatoes in salted water for 20 minutes.
Melt butter and oil in frying pan. Add onion, garlic and seasonings. Caramelize. about 20 minutes.
Drain and mash potatoes. Add caramelized mixture, cheese and taste test! Add salt and pepper to taste.

10533737_10204681779308430_6420455127979269207_n

ASSEMBLE AND COOK:

Bring a large pot of water to a boil.
Pinch of Tablespoon size portions of the dough and roll into balls. (About 3 dozen total)
On a well floured surface roll each dough ball into a flat round. Cover with a damp paper towel so the dough doesn’t dry out.
Once dough is rolled out hold each round in the palm of your hand while filling with a generous amount of potato filling.
Fold in half and pinch edges together, set aside.

Drop no more than 6 pierogi into boiling water. Once they float allow to boil for about 3 minutes.

SAUTE AND SERVE:

I put a stick of butter into the frying pan and allow to melt. Add pierogi. Saute until each side is golden brown.

You can top these with a gravy, personally I just enjoy them from the butter! Delicious!!

Before and after:
1897989_10204681728107150_5874987869113026140_n

This recipe usually produces about 3 dozen if you do the tablespoon sized dough ball… Before you fry them (after boiled) you can allow to cool and then freeze them for future meals.
I tend to make mine on the bigger side. I almost never get a whole 3 dozen.
if you’ve frozen them, you can just fry them up like they are fresh and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

