ladysbeans

Stay at home mom spilling the beans on everyday life!

Backyard Adventures!

Leave a comment

The fowl and the ducks are doing AH-ma-zing!! I’m so friggin excited!!
I added two Easter Egger chicks to my flock about a month ago, after rehoming my rooster (=[ still sad about this.) They are just about ready to go into the big girl house!

5w2

Its surreal how quickly they grow, although I wont see any eggs from them until November. Once they start laying their eggs will be hues of blue, green and even pink. The kids will be amazed!

Hen is my Splash Cochin, Cupcake is a Black Sexlink and Humalie is a Buff Orpington. I have read that all 3 of them will lay large brown eggs.
Now I’ve also read that Cochins are poor egg layers and that they are broody. Broody means that a hen will go all “momma hulk” on her eggs. Just sit and sit and sit waiting for them to hatch.
I don’t think that I really believe that Hen wont give me eggs on a regular basis, but I’ll keep you guys updated.

16w

Humalie and Cupcake!

16w2

Humalie and Hen!

You can see that this picture was photo bombed by our drake, a Rouen duck. So… The other day I caught the drake mounting our female duck! I don’t know if he actually got it in.. it worries me. I’ve read that ducks are horndogs and that they can actually hurt chickens if they try to mate with them!
My 8 year old daughter has always hated eggs! Strange, I know. But she is more that ready and willing to try out a farm fresh egg. Even a duck egg!!

Leave a Reply

