ladysbeans

Stay at home mom spilling the beans on everyday life!

Easy Peasy Peach Jam Pectin Free!!

Leave a comment

If I couldn’t stress anything more it would be my loathing for pectin. period. I hate the stuff. Maybe its just me, like some people don’t like using yeast… I don’t know.. Any who.

 

Lemon juice is a natural pectin! It works wonders! I love the consistency it gives my jams.

Ingredients:

3lbs peaches, diced. No need to peel

1/4C fresh squeezed lemon juice, about 1 good sized lemon.

2.5C sugar (or more if your peaches aren’t very sweet, less if they are very sweet)

 

I put my diced peaches in a really big bowl, poured lemon juice on top. Fold to coat. Add sugar. Fold to coat.

Then I covered it and left it on the counter for about 2 hours.

Pour into large sauce pan, bring to a boil. Boil for 25-30. It will start getting thick, no quiet coating the spoon.

Remove from heat and ladle into mason jars.

Mine doesn’t last for very long, the kids burn through it. But you can refrigerate for up to a month or freeze for several months!

Peach jam in winter!!

 

Peach Jam

 

Leave a Reply

