ladysbeans

Stay at home mom spilling the beans on everyday life!

Simple Strawberry Jam!!

Leave a comment

IMG_0406

The other day the family and I went to the local strawberry patch and collected 9 pounds of berries!! Welll… what to do with so many? I froze about half for later use.. then I thought something like this:
IMG_0410 would be a GREAT idea!!
It was so super simple to make, probably about 20 minutes from start to finish.
I used the Magic Bullet, Dessert bullet to mash up my berries. I like my jam on the chunky side. You can mash them more for a smoother texture!

Jam1
Tada!!

INGREDIENTS:
1 lb. strawberries, mashed.
3/4c. sugar
2Tbsp lemon juice*. (Either a fresh lemon or one of those little plastic lemons is fine)

DIRECTIONS:
Using a medium heavy bottom pot on medium heat, add all ingredients. Once sugar is dissolved turn heat up to med-high, stirring frequently bring to a rolling boil (a boil in which when you stir the boiling doesn’t stop.) let boil, keep stirring, for about 10 minutes. Until it starts to thicken up.
Take off heat and allow to cool, ladle into jar, refrigerate for up to 2 weeks!

*The lemon juice acts as a natural pectin, which is why I didn’t have to add pectin to my recipe
This recipe makes about 1 and a half cups of jam

Leave a Reply

